Youth Science Canada News

YSC welcomes 2020-2021 Board

Youth Science Canada is pleased to announce its 2020-2021 board of directors, a dynamic group of STEM advocates and experts, to help steer the organization into its 60th year. Changes to the board include the appointment to three-year terms of Christian Theriault (left photo), four-time finalist at Canada-Wide Science Fair and award-winning serial entrepreneur, and Richard (Dick) Wilson (right photo), a communications expert with a career spanning close to four decades. Caroline Whippey, board member since 2018, was elected to the role of chair.

“We are delighted to welcome these experienced community leaders to our board,” says Whippey. “Throughout their respective careers Christian and Richard have demonstrated a deep commitment to Canadian youth, encouraging students from all walks of life to investigate scientific questions and develop innovative solutions related to the many challenges we face as a society.”

Along with the new members and chair, the board elected Jamie Parsons, life-long STEM champion and assistant principal of Holy Spirit High in Conception Bay South in Newfoundland and Labrador, as vice-chair, Mandy Dennison, director of social responsibility at Intact Foundation, as secretary and reappointed Najib Hayat, founder and CEO of NHK Consultants Inc., as treasurer.

Jeff Hoyle and Steve Karrel completed their three-year terms; Karrel served a previous three-year term from 2009-2012 and served briefly as volunteer acting executive director in 2017.

“We would like to extend our most sincere thanks to Jeff and Steve for their contributions to our organization,” said Reni Barlow, executive director of Youth Science Canada. “Both provided strong leadership and guidance through a difficult period for the organization.”

For information on the 2020-2021 Youth Science Canada board, as well as background on its newest directors, Christian Theriault and Richard Wilson, visit