Youth Science Canada News

2020 Distinguished Service Award Recipients Announced

Youth Science Canada is pleased to announce the eight recipients of its 2020 Distinguished Service Award. The Awards annually recognize up to ten volunteers and staff who have made an outstanding contribution, through innovation, long service, or leadership, to the organization or its programs at any level. Nominations are submitted by any two volunteers or staff at any level (by January 31) and selection of the recipients is made by the Board of Directors.
Congratulations to:

Top – left to right:

  • Rino Castonguay , Edmundston NB
  • Denis Gagnon, Peace River AB
  • Dennis Lahteenmaa, Toronto ON
  • Kelly MacAlpine, Woodstock ON

Bottom – left to right:

  • Daniel Moffet, Peace River AB
  • Jim Montgomery, Ottawa ON
  • Rudy Subedar, Winnipeg MB
  • Bill Whelan, Charlottetown PE

Recipients receive a crystal award, which is usually presented at a Regional Science Fair or the Canada-Wide Science Fair.
The complete list of recipients, from 1985 to the present, may be viewed on the Distinguished Service Awards page, along with the nomination guide.