Three CWSF Alumni Announced as STEAM Horizon Award Recipients

Tue, 2019-04-16 17:53 -- Reni Barlow


This year’s five winners of the STEAM Horizon award have been named and we are pleased to announce that they include three CWSF and Team Canada-ISEF alumni. The STEAM award is given by Ingenium (Canada’s Museums of Science and Innovation) to five students who demonstrate and develop their interest in Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Math (STEAM).  The three CWSF alumni awarded include Tyra Cockney-Goose, Waleed Sawan and Jackson Weir.

Tyra Cockney-Goose is from Inuvik, a small community located above the Arctic Circle. Since graduating as Valedictorian of her high school she has been working towards a Bachelor Degree of Science in Mathematics at the University of Victoria. Not only did she participate in CWSF but also at the Prime Minister’s Science Fair in 2018. She is not planning on slowing down any time soon!

Waleed Sawan has combined his STEAM passion with another important field. He has developed groups and clubs to help encourage less-abled and developmentally educated students to do STEAM projects. Waleed pursued this, in turn creating a developmentally educated division at his regional fair, the first of its kind. This doesn’t even take into account Waleed’s numerous personal achievements and projects that took him to CWSF 2014, 2015 and 2017, as well as Intel ISEF 2018.

Finally, Jackson Weir is aiming to be a change maker and is well on his way! Not only is he junior editor and chief of the Atlantic Student Research Journal and co-founder of the Ponder Club at University of New Brunswick, he is also doing his own research. His achievements have allowed him the opportunity to present his findings to the Prime Minister and be published in two journals! CWSF 2019 participants can congratulate him in person, as he will be a CWSF Ambassador.

Youth Science Canada is more than proud of our three alumni as they continue to pursue their dreams and reflect the values of YSC in their work!