2011 Distinguished Service Award Recipients Announced

Thu, 2011-04-07 22:17 -- Reni Barlow

Youth Science Canada is pleased to announce the seven recipients of its 2011 Distinguished Service Award. The Awards annually recognize up to ten volunteers and staff who have made an outstanding contribution, through innovation, long service, or leadership, to the organization or its programs at any level. Nominations are submitted by any two volunteers or staff at any level (by January 31) and selection of the recipients is made by the National Science Fair Committee.

Congratulations to:

Top - left to right:

  • Chuck Buckley, Calgary AB
  • David Cashin, Sydney NS
  • Yvonne Dawe, St. John's NL
  • Rebecca Harrison, Edmonton AB

Bottom - left to right:

  • Jeff Hoyle, Brookfield NS
  • Judith Soon, Vancouver BC
  • John Twelves, Hanover ON
Recipients receive a crystal award, which is usually presented at a Regional Science Fair or the Canada-Wide Science Fair.

The complete list of recipients, from 1985 to the present, may be viewed on theDistinguished Service Awards page, along with the nomination guide.