Steve Karrel

Membre du conseil d'administration
Enseignant (à la retraite)

 

Steve est un enseignant à la retraite qui a donné des cours de mathématiques et de sciences à différents niveaux et a occupé des postes administratifs au cours de sa carrière totalisant 30 ans de service.

Steve a commencé son implication dans les expo-sciences en 1987 lorsqu'il a organisé une expo-sciences à son école. L'année suivante, ses élèves se sont inscrits à l’expo-sciences régionale et deux ans plus tard, un de ses élèves a été sélectionné pour participer à l’Expo-sciences pancanadienne. Au fil des ans, plus de 30 élèves de Steve ont participé à l’ESPC. Steve a participé à l’ESPC depuis 1997 (Regina). De 2002 à 2007, Steve a été coprésident de l’ESPC 2007 à Truro (Nouvelle-Écosse).
 
Steve est un membre fondateur de Nova Scotia Youth Experiences in Science (NS-YES) et a agit à titre de vice-président et président. Cette organisation provinciale travaille à fournir des occasions d’apprentissage amusantes pour les élèves de la Nouvelle-Écosse.
 
En tant que membre engagé dans sa communauté, Steve a offert des programmes pour appuyer les élèves adultes à se préparer à passer des examens de perfectionnement en éducation générale ou à se préparer pour réintégrer l’école secondaire. Steve a également siégé au conseil des commissaires du Service des pompiers bénévoles du Great Village and District depuis 1990 et occupe actuellement le poste de vice-président. Steve est membre du conseil d'administration du Nova Scotia Provincial Exhibition Commission et membre du Nova Scotia Harness Racing Industry Council.

Steve Karrel

Board Member
Teacher (Retired)

 

Steve is a retired teacher who taught mathematics and science courses at various levels and held administrative positions over his 30 year career.

 
Steve began his involvement with science fairs in 1987 when he organized and held a fair in his local junior high school. The following year his students were entered at the regional level and two years later one of his students attended the Canada-Wide Science Fair. Over the years, more than 30 of Steve’s students have attended the CWSF. Steve has attended the CWSF since 1997 (Regina). From 2002 to 2007, Steve was co-chair for CWSF 2007, held in Truro, Nova Scotia.
 
Steve is a founding member of Nova Scotia Youth Experiences in Science (NS-YES) and has served as vice-chair and chair.. This provincial organization works to create enjoyable educational science experiences and opportunities for Nova Scotia students.
 
As a committed member of his community, Steve has conducted learning programs to help adult students prepare to write General Education Development exams or upgrade to re-enter high school. Steve has also served on the Great Village and District Volunteer Fire Department Board of Commissioners since 1990 and is currently serving as Vice-Chair. Steve serves as a Board member of the Nova Scotia Provincial Exhibition Commission and as a member of the Nova Scotia Harness Racing Industry Council.
science